Finding a Niche – Writing to read not writing for readers.

Niche Syndrome

Niche Syndrome (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I started writing again because no one was writing what I wanted to read. There are some amazing books that I really enjoyed but there were no books that really hit what I wanted and that’s why I picked up my creativity and got cracking again.

I was away for the holiday this weekend and I took my net-book and whilst thinking out some plotlines, I realised I was falling into a bit of a trap. The snare of thinking about the reader too much. I was trying to craft situations that I thought the readers would want to read and not remaining true to my original vision of the story.

It’s quite easy when you’re a newbie writer to do this because you are often second guessing what you think. Whilst it’s okay to think about plausibility and originality and to make sure your story is authentic, the minute you begin thinking about the end-user just take a moment.

Writing for other readers doesn’t work if it did then there would be a magic formula that all writers would follow that would result in endless bestsellers and residuals. Don’t believe the hype and all the books that promise just that.. Are savvy (if immoral) authors getting rich off your naïvety rather than any original novels they’ve written.

By thinking too long and hard about the reader and not the story, you’re sure to end up with a confused and stilted mess. The minute, I reset my expectations and began again, with what I wanted to read, the niche that no one else inhabits and the story that makes me light up in dark moments, my flow and my creativity raced back in.

Trust yourself and your story and your future readers will too.

So what do you think?

Comments, as always, welcome.

 

14 thoughts on “Finding a Niche – Writing to read not writing for readers.

  1. I agree it’s much more fun to write that way. After all, most of us probably started writing for ourselves. It’s best if we can keep doing that.

    • It is much more fun! I also think if you’re looking to monetize your scribblings eventually it also gives you an edge because you are writing your own niche. Thanks for commenting.

  2. I totally agree! For me writing is about exploring your mind and creating new things. By thinking about others you lose the most important thing, your own touch. Because each writer (or artist for that matter) has its own touch that makes him special. We shall stick to our true selves and discover what our own minds are capable of doing, not what others think should be written. Loved your beginning by the way!

    • Aww thanks so much for the compliment, blush. I think we lose if we stifle ourselves. I think it’s the personal touch we all bring that makes each piece of creativity unique. Thanks for commenting..

  3. giving everyone what they want isn’t the same as making art, at least not art that lasts. if some like what you do, that means more than a million likes, 1000 comments … which in itself isn’t meaningful at all. tony

    • Agreed and good point. I read an interesting piece about sales and marketing on an authors blog where she took part in a reality TV show with the exposure that it garnered, we’d all be thinking wow “Sales Boost”. Not a single even small uplift to her book sales from an additional 100,000 followers on twitter and over 6,000 Facebook followers. Just goes to show. The work stands on it’s own.

  4. “You can’t write if you can’t relate”-beck.
    I used to write constantly during my, oh how shall I put this, somewhat darker years in college. That quote was my mantra once the pen hit the paper (or keyboard these days). Unfortunately, I was never able to fully kick the writers block, and developed an irriational fear of failing my audience (hence the writers block). Still haven’t recovered 🙂

      • Hi SY, I really get your point. I used to not write due to a self fulfilling fear of not being able to write as well as “Insert famous Author” here. Or alternatively exactly the same as you, fear of failing anyone reading it. 🙂 It’s taken twenty odd years but I think I am getting there… LOL 🙂

  5. Thank you for liking my post : Freelance Writing is a creative challenge? (generaltechdocs.wordpress.com)

    What I believe is that whatever we write should be readble. There should be something there that the reader can grab and he feels it is useful for him. It is reader’s expectation. So we should respect them.
    Thanks

  6. I am sure you got a lot of people thinking about this. And I am sure there are as many different answers as there are people reading. I am not a writer so don’t even know how to answer. 😦
    WordPress is great. I never knew it even existed although I know I must have read tons of WP bloggers without realizing it was a WP thing. But great as it is, I think it does push us in the direction of making us think we are to be writing for our readers instead of ourselves. Did I say push? I think I meant shove. lol

    I like writing for my readers. And if they don’t come I get in a funk. But I find I keep on writing something and have lots of unpublished things in my Draft Folder. So that has to mean that I enjoy writing for myself as well.

    I have followers that I never thought would be interested. And I follow some that I never thought I would be interested in reading. Then we all probably have those that follow us and we follow just because……….

    I was ever so pleased when you returned. You were one of the first that came around when I started. We won’t please everyone. My hundreds of followers are out there in NeverLand. I would rather have those few faithful that leave a comment or even just a smile. Likes are nice but I think a smile shows that you actually opened up the page.

    Oh by the way I started another blog. Would you like to follow me there too? lol

    https://ladysighs.wordpress.com/
    https://ladysighs.wordpress.com/

  7. this is so true! Confidence in your writing is key, too, and hard to win–so to speak. Also, not writing “down” to your audience is helpful–to credit them with intelligence to fill in blanks, here and there…this is a big Achilles heel for me–over-explaining…and, let me tell you all about that…oh hoh hoh…:)

What do you think?

