Why? But is that the only question a writer needs to ask?

My story for the book (the one that i am writing slow-er-ly) has an opening scene that sets up the rest of the plot. However the first few paragraphs are more observational than gut punching?

In my case, a small happy boy sits on top of tower and contemplates a day of duty, which doesn’t end the way he expects it too. So far so fantasy trope…. I have an ace up the sleeve in the small boy is not the focus of the story, the men and women that surround him are the focus. ..

Does every story have to start with a battle aftermath or a battle or a dead body?

Or actually are we all churning out the same opening scen

Question Writer

Question Writer (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

e? Trying to impress in two hundred words or less?

I am not sure I know the right answer. I know what the advice is…

But what do you think?

 

6 thoughts on “Why? But is that the only question a writer needs to ask?

  1. I think the best way to start a scene is to make the reader want more. It does not have to be a blood and gore, but one that makes the reader say. How did this character get to this point. What will happen or what has happened? The First 50 Pages by Jeff Gerke is a great book that plots what you need to get done in the first 50 pages of a book. Thank you for re-posting my post. Good luck with your book, it sound great so far. I am looking forward to reading more from you!

  2. I think that the first few paragraphs are probably not as important as the complete first scene. I’ve read a lot of good books that built slowly to a torrid pace. There are also a lot of books that started really hot and slowly died within two chapters. I think it is far more important to get your readers involved in a character (or maybe just the plot line..) fairly quickly…say within the first ten to twenty pages or so (hard to say exactly, but maybe around the first three thousand words…). Then allow the development to take over slowly building tension and/or complexity. It doesn’t have to hit you in the face. But it needs to initiate a response in the reader…..lots of ways to do that I guess….

  3. I just finished reading “The Long Goodbye” (Raymond Chandler) and it’s a prime example of a book that begins slowly. I’m still trying to figure out how it hooks me (I keep getting distracted by the reading lol) but I think it is the voice of the character and some sort of building premonition. Like I said, still trying to figure it out myself…

    • Thanks, going to have a look at the opening and see. I think there are a lot of really set up beginnings now and whilst I don’t want the first few chapters to be just about establishing mood. I do want the atmosphere to be right. Hope that makes sense.

What do you think?

