FROM THE BLOGGING COUCH IN A GALAXY NOT SO FAR AWAY!

I’ve finally embraced the wordWriter” both as a noun and as a verb. I am a Writer and I write a blog. It makes me feel so happy to say it aloud that I want to run round the house shouting, with my jumper over my head in a weird scribbler goal celebration. My excitement about the future and the put-words-on-paper thing is such that I could explode at any second into a kaleidoscope of multi-coloured stars!

Stand back readers – she’s gonna blow!

When it comes to my dreams, I have spent so long procrastinating and coming up with unbelievably complex excuses. I don’t have enough time, I don’t have enough energy, I don’t have anywhere to write, I don’t have enough talent (still not sure but working on it), The stars are not in the right alignment and my favourite – I am going to write just after I have done x or at the beginning of whichever month, week, minute, moment I wasn’t in.

3D panoramic view of Mount Everest. Picture ma...

3D panoramic view of Mount Everest. Picture made using SRTM data, freely provided by NASA. Do you feel sick yet? (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Blogging in particular has passed that little hurdle as if it were no more than an inconvenient speed bump. It has robbed me of the excuses because with the rather clever smartphones and the WordPress app, I am pretty sure I could do this stuff from the summit of Everest. I can write everywhere!

I’ve felt the force of READERS through WordPress. Here comes my little hover over the publish button and voilà: comments, likes and feedback. What other medium could you get that from? It’s been a little under three months now and this has single-handedly kept me on-track with my off blog writing goals.

Readers, when it comes to saying what I want on my blog, I am not someone you should put on a pedestal, I’ll only disappoint you. Sticking me in a room with a big red button saying “don’t push” would not be the smartest idea.

I will continue to write what I want to write, sometimes there will be humour, sometimes I will think there is humour and get it wrong. Sometimes people will actually laugh out loud and not just LOL. I hope sometimes to move you too, without sounding like a horrible human being, what’s it going to take to get you lot to start blubbing?

So, if you’ve stuck with me this far into the post, you are wondering when I’m going to get to the point, right? Well, you could be disappointed in this regard. Because that is the thing about blogging. I don’t have to have a point to post. I don’t have to be making a life-changing comment on the social inequalities on the Planet Zob or washing my guts out emotionally every five minutes.

I can simply talk about my day or post a poem, joke or quote. In short blogging can equal freedom if you let it.

I am still addicted to the world map on the stats page but I am getting a little more passive aggressive with the views bar. I only check it every five minutes hour now.

So i don’t have a point. I am a Writer and I write a blog. (Both a noun and a verb)

Thanks for reading, comments as always, welcome.

16 thoughts on “FROM THE BLOGGING COUCH IN A GALAXY NOT SO FAR AWAY!

  1. Say it loud!! It’s true – you are a Writer. When someone asks you what you do, you can say, I am a Writer. I am working on a novel and I also Blog regularly. The more you say it, the easier it is to believe. 😉

  2. S.J … now given that I am: a) by looks of things much older than you, and b) have been with you in this blogging world since the beginning or there about, I will take a risk here of being told off by you for uninvited ‘lecturing’ (no worries I am used it from my own daughter -:)). But I do have to say this – STOP worrying, analysing, second-guessing yourself, making excuses, procrastinating, criticising yourself severely, etc. I know all about that … and guess what – it is the most useless and the most time consuming ‘exercise’ ever! Just write, write and enjoy, or if you must agonize over it … but do it anyway! You are a writer when you say you are! You write, we do … it is where we both found whatever it is to make us feel alive! So feel alive!
    Daniela

  3. You gave me this same comment not long ago on my blog – You are a writer! Say it Loud and Say it Proud. We are similar in the struggle to get here and “be a writer” but we’re doing it. I have to admit, the Nike branding of ‘Just Do It’ made me want to kick something usually but it was just a reflection back that I wasn’t doing ‘it’. Keep it going you’ve got a reader/fan, I enjoy the hell out of your blog!

  4. being new to the blogging world also, I know firsthand what the title: blogger entails–lots and lots of work that’s incrtedibly stimulating and fun…but work all the same. Best thing is, the more you do it, the better you become. As with anything. Enjoyable read–and I like the aside to checking views..hehe..:)

What do you think?

