SEVEN DAYS IN BLOGLAND

Today, is exactly seven days since I started my Blog. I know most people wait a year to comment on their experience, but I just couldn’t wait, as the revelations have come wall-hard fast.

Being a writer (author status comes later, fingers crossed), with grandiose ideas on readership and future publicity (forgive her – Reader, she knows not what she does). I saw this Blog as an opportunity; part of a wider long-term marketing plan for my work. I’d read various articles about needing a strategy and thought this could be a way for me to start that plan. Life, however, had very different plans for me.

Today, I had an epiphany whilst stuck in tail-backs (the M1/Freeway is not the most inspiring of places but it came anyway), that I was just a wee bit arrogant and just a wee bit deluded about this – err…. plan.

So here it is – I owe you some apologies.

First up. I am sorry – for thinking that I was bigger and better than this! I have read on other people’s blogs, some of the most amazing, intelligent, witty and downright funny writing EVER – End of!

Secondly, I am apologising for the sheer dumb-ass standard of my work. The last week has taught me, that I need to progress my writing, to a standard that is worthy of the act of reading. If you are actively choosing to stick around, then I need to do better and with a much clearer voice.  I will learn to love the draft button, take free grammar/punctuation tests (who knew how much of this could be found online?), consider my sentence construction and the proper use of punctuation.

I am sorry, for all the anxst and worrying – that someone else has written it better, more concise or funnier and then censoring my ideas and style to match some ideal of perfection that simply doesn’t exist. Fear, should have no place here.

I am not proud of my ignorance or ego – Ahem, so there it is, laid bare (silly writer-lady).

Tskk, Tsk.

The good bit.

I’d like to dedicate this award to…….

Gratitude, is up next and is much more fun!Thank you!  – To my four followers – a simple button press has in turn: inspired, exhilarated, delighted and astonished me. For all my faults (Reader – there are many, oh so many), you have seen in my rambling enough merit, to want more of it and this is bloody brilliant for a writer! We’re not related (I think? – “Mum? Dad?, get off the Internet will you, please?”), I don’t know you and you didn’t have to read it. You could have simply wandered off (I – might have….) But you didn’t and I am grateful, because that simple act, told me in a way that words couldn’t have – “Keep going!”.

Thank you! To the lovely lady, that gave me my first comment. Another writer, finding her way, who brought sunshine and smiles, to a day that contained only rain and endless spreadsheets.

And a final thank you to “elsewhere”, that place that this inner voice comes from – you are talking to me again. You may only be a whisper in the dark, but you are welcome here, and I am now LISTENING.

2 thoughts on “SEVEN DAYS IN BLOGLAND

What do you think?

